Complete list of stories from the Aunt Jo’s Scrap-Bag series

Aunt Jo’s Scrap-Bag is a collection of short stories, mostly for children, that Louisa wrote in the 1880s (including stories from her grand tour of Europe with younger sister May). While none of the stories have anything to do with Little Women, the publisher obviously was banking on the title drawing in lots of buyers (and it obviously worked!).

Thanks to one of our readers (Tarissa, In The Bookcase blog) we have the entire list of stories from all 6 volumes of Aunt Jo’s Scrap-Bag, all of which are available on the web (just click on the Volume number to get to the stories).

Here is the complete list (note: a permanent link to this list will be posted on the My Growing Library page of this blog):

Volume #1:

  • My Boys
  • Tessa’s Surprises
  • Buzz
  • The Children’s Joke
  • Dandelion
  • Madam Cluck and Her Family
  • A Curious Call
  • Tilly’s Christmas
  • My Little Gentleman
  • Back Windows
  • Little Marie of Lehon
  • My May-Day Among Curious Birds and Beasts
  • Our Little Newsboy
  • Patty’s Patchwork
from Shawl Straps

Volume #2:

Contains a book called ‘Shawl-Straps’ and is divided into 6 parts named:

  • I.  Off
  • II.  Brittany
  • III.  France
  • IV.  Switzerland
  • V.  Italy
  • VI.  London

These are stories from Louisa and May’s grand tour of Europe.

Volume #3:

  • Cupid and Chow-chow
  • Huckleberry
  • Nelly’s Hospital
  • Grandma’s Team
  • Fairy Pinafores
  • Mamma’s Plot
  • Kate’s Choice
  • The Moss People
  • What Fanny Heard
  • A Marine Merry-Making

Volume #4:

  • My Girls
  • Lost in a London Fog
  • The Boys’ Joke, and Who Got the Best of It
  • Roses and Forget-Me-Nots
  • Old Major
  • What the Girls Did
  • Little Neighbors
  • Marjorie’s Three Gifts
  • Patty’s Place
  • The Autobiography of an Omnibus
  • Red Tulips
  • A Happy Birthday

Volume #5:

  • Jimmy’s Cruise in the Pinafore
  • Two Little Travellers
  • A Jolly Fourth
  • Seven Black Cats
  • Rosa’s Tale
  • Lunch
  • A Bright Idea
  • How they Camped Out
  • My Little School-Girl
  • What a Shovel Did
  • Clams
  • Kitty’s Cattle Show
  • What Becomes of the Pins

Volume #6:

  • An Old-Fashioned Thanksgiving
  • How It All Happened
  • The Dolls’ Journey from Minnesota to Maine
  • Morning-Glories
  • Shadow-Children
  • Poppy’s Pranks
  • What the Swallows Did
  • Little Gulliver
  • The Whale’s Story
  • A Strange Island
  • Fancy’s Friend

Many, MANY thanks to Tarissa for this great piece of research! This is why this blog is nothing without all of you. 🙂

Are you passionate about Louisa May Alcott too?
Send an email to
to subscribe, and never miss a post!
Facebook Louisa May Alcott is My Passion
More About Louisa on Twitter

7 Replies to “Complete list of stories from the Aunt Jo’s Scrap-Bag series”

  1. While visiting some “antique” shops today I purchased Aunt Jo’s Scrap Bag. Apparently it is vol. 1 because it starts with My Boys and ends with Patty’s Patchwork. But it also contains Shawl Straps beginning with Off and ending with London. The book has no publishing date. But there is a bookplate stating someone received the book for Christmas, 1923. Any clue as to what I have?

    1. Probably just a lovely antique version. I have one that my mother had dated 1929 from Little, Brown and Co. Does yours have illustrations? I love the drawings from that time period.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: